The following was included in TCTA's 2018-19 Survival Guide, the ultimate reference tool for Texas educators, and is current as of September 2018 but is subject to change.

The Texas Education Agency maintains calendars for the following assessments of Texas public school students: STAAR, TAKS, NAEP and TELPAS. Find the 2018-19 calendar on the TEA website.

2018-19 STAAR requirements

Grades 3-8 assessments

  • Grade 3 Reading, Math
  • Grade 4 Reading, Math, Writing
  • Grade 5 Reading*, Math*, Science
  • Grade 6 Reading, Math
  • Grade 7 Reading, Math, Writing
  • Grade 8 Reading*, Math*, Science, Social Studies

*Promotion requirement

End-of-course assessments 
(applicable to students who grades 9-12)

  • English I and English II    
  • Algebra I
  • Biology            
  • U.S. History

Find more information on student assessment