Dolores RamirezTCTA Immediate Past-President Dolores Ramirez is the only non-administrator running for an active member position on the Teacher Retirement System Board of Trustees.

The nine-member TRS Board includes two seats reserved for active public school employees. TCTA State President Nanette Sissney holds one, which expires in 2015. The other, currently held by former TCTA State President Charlotte Clifton, expires Aug. 31, 2013, and she is not seeking reelection.

Following an election in which eligible TRS members may vote, the governor will fill Clifton’s seat from among the top three vote getters. The appointment will be for a six-year term that expires Aug. 31, 2019.

About Dolores Ramirez

A teacher for 35 years, Ramirez joined TCTA in 1978 and has served the association on the local, district and state levels. She led TCTA as the statewide president in 2011-12.

Ramirez is also a member of the San Benito Kiwanis, San Benito Historical Society, the Aggie Moms of the Rio Grande Valley, and the First Presbyterian Church. She holds a BS in Elementary Education from Texas A&I University and is certified to teach kindergarten, gifted and talented, and bilingual education.

How to Vote

Active public education members of TRS may vote. The March 2013 issue of TRS News includes election details and a personalized ballot with the URL for a special election website where eligible TRS members may vote online. Printed ballots must be returned to TRS in the provided postage-paid envelope no later than May 6, 2013. Online votes are due the same day by 5 p.m. CST.