Dolores RamirezWith 12,289 votes, TCTA Immediate Past-President Dolores Ramirez is the top vote getter in the 2013 Teacher Retirement System Board of Trustees election, according to election results released May 29. The only non-administrator running for one of two active member positions on the board, Ramirez received roughly 3,000 more votes than the second-place candidate and nearly 9,000 more votes than the third-place finisher. The governor will choose from among the top three vote getters to fill the seat for a six-year term that begins Sept. 1, 2013, and expires Aug. 31, 2019.

The nine-member TRS Board includes two seats reserved for active public school employees. TCTA State President Nanette Sissney holds one, which expires in 2015. The other, currently held by former TCTA State President Charlotte Clifton, who did not seek re-election, expires Aug. 31. 2013.

About Dolores Ramirez

A teacher for 35 years, Ramirez joined TCTA in 1978 and has served the association on the local, district and state levels. She led TCTA as the statewide president in 2011-12.

Ramirez is also a member of the San Benito Kiwanis, San Benito Historical Society, the Aggie Moms of the Rio Grande Valley, and the First Presbyterian Church. She holds a BS in Elementary Education from Texas A&I University and is certified to teach kindergarten, gifted and talented, and bilingual education.

About the election

Active public education members of TRS were eligible to vote in the election for the TRS Board seat. The March 2013 issue of TRS News included a personalized ballot, which was due to TRS in early May 2013.

Thank you to all those who signed the petitions necessary to place Ramirez on the ballot, and of course, to all those who voted for her.