• To honor an outstanding paraprofessional in Texas.
  • To celebrate the high regard in which teachers hold paraprofessionals and the important work they do with students.


  • Nominee must be a current TCTA member, with at least one full year of TCTA membership.
  • Nominee must have worked as a paraprofessional during the 2018-19 school year.


The TCTA Communications/Public Relations Committee will consider the following criteria in selecting the award winner:

  • Length of time as a paraprofessional and a TCTA member.
  • Examples of distinguished service to students at the campus.
  • Demonstrated support for teachers at the campus.
  • Level of involvement as a TCTA member.

Nomination Procedures

  • Each CTA may submit one nominee in this category. Nominee must be selected through a CTA election or other democratic process (e.g., ballots made available to all members, a vote at a publicized meeting, etc.). Nominations also may be submitted by a TCTA member-at-large in areas where there is not a TCTA local affiliate.
  • Nomination materials addressing “Criteria” requirements cannot be written by the nominee.
  • Nominations may be submitted to TCTA headquarters online using the online nomination form OR via email, mail, fax or hand delivery using the downloadable PDF form. Submitted materials will not be returned.
  • Nomination must be RECEIVED by May 1, 2020. Please note: This is not a "postmarked" deadline.
  • Nomination form must be submitted by the CTA president or a member-at-large (in districts in which there is no TCTA local affiliate).

Selection Process

Nominations are evaluated and the winner selected by members of the TCTA Communications/Public Relations Committee. Nominee names, school districts and CTA affiliations (if any) will be redacted to ensure a fair and impartial judging process.

Award Presentation

The TCTA Paraprofessional of the Year receives a paid annual membership for the 2020-21 school year and an engraved award. The winner will be recognized in TCTA statewide publications and on the TCTA website, and the award will be presented in a local ceremony.

Other TCTA awards