Texas will not be among the states to receive funding from the federal Preschool Development Grants Program, according to a Dec. 10, 2014, announcement by the U.S. Department of Education. The grants will go to Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont and Virginia.

Texas was one of 36 states to apply for the funds in fall 2014. As TCTA previously reported, the Texas Pre-K Expansion Grant (PEG) proposal submitted by Texas Commissioner of Education Michael Williams contained an unexpected provision that would have provided for $8,000 vouchers that could have been used for private pre-K programs.

TCTA, as a member of the Texas Public Schools Coalition, which opposes vouchers due to their diversion of public funds to private schools, joined in submitting a letter objecting to the voucher component of the application to U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan. He has historically and publicly been opposed to vouchers.

Austin's Time Warner Cable News interviewed Holly Eaton, TCTA's director of professional development and advocacy, about the reasons behind Texas' failure to secure one of the grants. Watch the short video.