Twenty-six Texas public schools were nominated for national 2016 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition, according to the Texas Education Agency. Founded in 1982, Blue Ribbon Schools is a U.S. Department of Education program that recognizes public and private elementary, middle and high schools where students perform at very high levels. 

Nominated Texas schools include:

  • Alief ISD – Alief Early College High School
  • Alief ISD – Kerr High School
  • Azle ISD – Cross Timbers Elementary School
  • Belton ISD – Leon Heights Elementary School
  • Bishop CISD – Petronila Elementary School
  • Borden County ISD – Borden County School
  • Brownsville ISD – Brownsville Early College High School
  • Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD – Rosemeade Elementary School
  • Dallas ISD – George Bannerman Dealey International Academy
  • Dallas ISD – George Bannerman Dealey Montessori Vanguard
  • Dallas ISD – School of Health Professions at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center
  • Edinburg CISD – Canterbury Elementary School
  • Edinburg CISD – Norma Linda Trevino Elementary School
  • Fort Worth ISD – Young Women’s Leadership Academy
  • Garland ISD – Hillside Academy for Excellence
  • Houston ISD – Lovett Elementary School
  • Houston ISD – Oak Forest Elementary School
  • Lubbock ISD – Margaret Talkington School For Young Women Leaders
  • Malakoff – Tool Elementary School
  • Miles ISD – Miles Elementary School
  • Panhandle ISD – Panhandle Elementary School
  • Pittsburg ISD – Pittsburg Intermediate School
  • United ISD (Laredo) – Trautmann Elementary School
  • Van Vleck ISD – Van Vleck Elementary School
  • Vista Del Futuro Charter School – Vista Del Futuro Charter School (El Paso)
  • Whitehouse ISD – Gus Winston Cain Elementary School

TEA said all nominated schools were selected as exemplary high performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests. Each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 20 percent or greater.

The nominated schools must now complete a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education. Announcements of the national award winners will be made in September 2016, and winners will be honored in Washington, D.C.