Commissioner of Education Mike Morath announced April 20, 2016, that he will grant two missed instructional day waivers for school systems in Houston area counties that fall within Gov. Greg Abbott’s state of disaster declaration. School systems in this area were severely impacted by flooding preventing schools from opening.

"Gov. Abbott moved swiftly to declare a state of disaster and bring needed assistance to these counties," Morath said. "I commend school system leaders for their swift response to ensure the safety of students, teachers and campus staff."

As a result of the two missed instructional day waivers, school systems in disaster counties that missed one or two days due to flooding will not have to make up those days on the remaining school calendar.

School systems in disaster counties with more than two days missed due to flooding will not have to make up those two days on the remaining school calendar, but will need to work with the Texas Education Agency on options for any additional missed days beyond two.

"Texas Education Agency staff will work with each individual school system on options, best suited to specific local needs, regarding the remainder of the school year," Morath said. "Superintendents now have a variety of options, and we will work with each district to resolve these school calendar issues."

Houston area counties in Abbott’s state of disaster declaration include Austin, Fort Bend, Colorado, Grimes, Harris, Montgomery, Waller and Wharton.