(TCTA's 2018-19 Executive Board takes office June 1, from left, Sherry Miller, Ann Martinez, Albert Mosqueda, Suzanne Garcia McCall, Cherie Bales, Twila Read, Teresa Koehler and Melody Young. Joyce McCurdy is not pictured.)

Hundreds attend meeting in Austin

Delegates at TCTA's 2018 Annual Meeting in Austin on Feb. 23 approved a revised dues structure beginning with the 2018-19 school year and elected officers to four positions on the Executive Board. Those gathered at the Renaissance Austin Hotel also heard from State Board of Education Chairwoman Donna Bahorich and the Rev. Charles Foster Johnson, founder and executive director of Pastors for Texas Children, earned CPE hours and discussed other association business. Suzanne Garcia McCall presided over the Representative Assembly meetings.

Election results

The governance amendment to revise the dues structure was approved as proposed. Effective with the 2018-19 school year:

  • dues for Active members will be $175;
  • dues for First-Time Active members will be $110;
  • dues for Associate members will be $85;
  • dues for Retired members will remain at $15; and
  • dues for Student members will continue to be free.

Delegates also voted in support of a motion to solicit voluntary donations from local affiliates to help offset the dues increase for members still struggling with the aftereffects of Hurricane Harvey in Region 5. Staff at Headquarters will send a letter to local CTA leaders with information about how donations will be collected.

Elected to the Executive Board for 2018-19 were Albert Mosqueda, president-elect; Melody Young, Budget Committee chair; Sherry Miller, Curriculum & Instruction Committee chair; and Teresa Koehler, Teacher Personal Services Committee chair. They take office June 1, when Cherie Bales becomes president and McCall becomes immediate past president. Other Executive Board members for 2018-19 include Twila Read, Legislation Committee chair; Ann Martinez, Membership Committee chair; and Joyce McCurdy, Professional Rights and Responsiblities Committee chair. The Governance Committee chair position, currently held by Mosqueda, will become vacant as he transitions to president-elect.


In the meeting's keynote address, Bahorich spoke about the ongoing development of SBOE's long-range plan for public education in Texas, summarizing the key findings so far during round table discussions across the state to solicit public input and urging delegates to take part in the online survey before March 2 to provide more input. SBOE aims to have the long-range plan, which will outline initiatives through 2030, ready for approval in the fall.

In a legislative session on the 2018 elections, Johnson urged teachers to vote in the primary elections. Decrying lawmakers who are against public education and favor school-choice initiatives, Johnson explained how Pastors for Texas Children works to encourage lawmakers to support public schools and how his group and others are aiming to get education-friendly candidates elected.

Mark your calendars

The 2019 TCTA Convention will be Jan. 29 to Feb. 1 in Austin and will include a lobby visit to the Texas Capitol.