(TCTA's 2018-19 Executive Board takes office June 1, from left, Sherry Miller, Ann Martinez, Albert Mosqueda, Suzanne Garcia McCall, Cherie Bales, Twila Read, Teresa Koehler and Melody Young. Joyce McCurdy is not pictured.)

Cherie Bales of Denver City will serve as TCTA's state president during the 2018-19 school year. Her term begins June 1, when Suzanne Garcia McCall of Slaton becomes immediate past president. Albert Mosqueda of San Benito will serve as president-elect.

Other changes to the Executive Board beginning June 1 include:

  • Melody Young of Sherman will become the Budget Committee chair
  • Teresa Koehler of Clear Creek will become the Teacher Personal Services Committee chair
  • Sherry Miller of Killeen begins a full term as Curriculum & Instruction Committee chair 

The other members of the Executive Board in 2018-19 include Twila Read, Legislation Committee chair; Ann Martinez, Membership Committee chair; and Joyce McCurdy, Professional Rights and Responsibilities Committee chair. The Governance Committee chair position will be vacant.

Several district directors also begin new terms June 1:

  • Shelley Koehler of Clear Creek in District 4
  • Katherine Durst of Bryan in District 6
  • Amy Neidert of Denison in District 10
  • Margaret Horn of Temple in District 12
  • Carla Olson of Abilene in District 14
  • Lynne McLaughlin of Amarillo in District 16
  • Terrill Q. Littlejohn of Midland in District 18
  • Vivian Burleson of Northside in District 20