H-E-B announced statewide winners of the 17th annual H-E-B Excellence in Education Awards during a May 6 ceremony in Houston. H-E-B Chairman and CEO Charles Butt handed out $430,000 in cash awards and grants, and congratulated eight educators, two school districts, one early childhood agency and a public school board for being among the best in Texas.

TCTA congratulates four members who were state finalists: Karen Brumley of Nixon-Smiley ISD, Jewellyn Forrest of Austin ISD, Kimberlee Allen McLeod of Marble Falls ISD and JP Fugler of Lindale ISD.