TCTA congratulates the six teachers recently named as finalists in TASA's Texas Teacher of the Year program. The elementary finalists are Juliette Broussard of Pasadena ISD, Perla Lozoya of Socorro ISD and Karen Sams of Weatherford ISD. The secondary finalists are Kami Dodds of Brady ISD, Jennifer Garner of River Road ISD and Michelle Sandoval of Ysleta ISD. The state winners will be announced during a luncheon Oct. 25 in Austin.

The banquet also will recognize the 40 Regional Teacher of the Year winners. That group includes seven TCTA members:

  • Region 3 Elementary winner: Carleen Thrash of Wharton ISD
  • Region 5 Elementary winner: Blisha Swearingen of Lumberton ISD
  • Region 5 Secondary winner: Justin Lezak of East Chambers ISD
  • Region 7 Secondary winner: Tammie Evans of Carthage ISD
  • Region 9 Elementary winner: Kevin Hunter of Vernon ISD
  • Region 13 Elementary winner: Keri Swanson of Lake Travis ISD
  • Region 18 Elementary winner: Jane Bledsoe of Midland ISD

Click here for a complete list of Regional Teacher of the Year winners.