TCTA's 2020-21 Executive Board takes office June 1. Pictured from left are Amy Collazo, Ann Martinez, Joyce McCurdy, Albert Mosqueda, Twila Read, Sherry Miller, Eleanore Malone, Melody Young, Cristal Isaacks and Nydia Alvarez-Alonzo.

Delegates at TCTA's 2020 Annual Meeting on Feb. 7 in Austin heard from Education Commissioner Mike Morath about an optional proposal for additional school days in elementary grades, received advice on teamwork from UT Baseball Coach David Pierce, heard from TCTA's legal and lobby team members and elected four people to TCTA's Executive Board for terms beginning June 1. TCTA State President Albert Mosqueda presided over the Representative Assembly business meeting.

The following people were elected or re-elected to terms beginning June 1:

  • President-elect: Sherry Miller of Killeen
  • Budget Committee Chair: Melody Young of Sherman
  • Curriculum & Instruction Committee Chair: Amy Collazo of Nederland
  • Teacher Personal Services Committee Chair: Nydia Alvarez-Alonzo of Mission

District Coordinating Councils held meetings to elect district directors in even-numbered districts and to discuss regional business.

Click here to see more photos from this year’s meeting.