State President Twila Read of Grand Prairie presided over TCTA's 2021 Virtual Convention Feb. 26 as delegates elected statewide officers and authorized TCTA staff to begin the process of reviewing and updating TCTA's governance documents. The following members were elected to two-year terms on TCTA's Executive Board:

  • Eleanore Malone of Tyler, president-elect
  • Jennifer Hutchinson of Hays Cons., Governance Committee chair
  • Cristal Isaacks of Levelland, Legislation Committee chair
  • Debra Helbert of Lamar Cons., Membership Committee chair
  • Sharron Wood of Little Cypress-Mauriceville, Professional Rights & Responsibilities Committee chair
  • Joyce McCurdy of Wichita Falls was elected to a one-year term as Curriculum & Instruction Committee chair to fill a vacancy.

New terms begin June 1 when Sherry Miller of Killeen takes office as state president for 2021-22.

Several District Coordinating Councils also elected district directors:

  • District 1: Carmen Garza of Pharr-San Juan-Alamo
  • District 3: James Garcia of Victoria
  • District 4: Dawn Hopkins of Lamar Cons.
  • District 9: Holly Lucas of Wichita Falls
  • District 13: Natalie Tatsch of Gonzales
  • District 15: Brec Espinoza of Brownwood
  • District 16: Christina Johnson of Amarillo
  • District 17: Sandi Hansen of Lubbock
  • District 19: Scott Berkenpas of Socorro

Ruben Chavez of Edcouch-Elsa and Stephanie Granado of McAllen were elected as Directors-At-Large for terms beginning June 1.