More bills of interest/concern set for hearings next week

6:00 p.m.

Committee meetings have been set for the upcoming week; bills of interest include:

In the Senate Education Committee







House Public Ed considers controversial bills

9:00 a.m.

The House Public Education Committee met Tuesday afternoon to begin a marathon hearing on several bills, including a number of controversial proposals. Several hours of testimony were devoted to HB 400 (more information here); other bills up for consideration included:





HB 400 committee hearing

Late into Tuesday evening (and, technically, Wednesday morning), the House Public Education committee held a public hearing that included testimony regarding Chairman Rob Eissler’s "game-changing" deregulation bill, HB 400.

TCTA Structure: 

Comptroller revises revenue estimate upward

1:00 p.m.

State Comptroller Susan Combs provided legislators with a bit of good news Monday, revising her revenue estimate for the state upward by $300 million based on improved sales tax returns.