Despite strong opposition from TCTA and other teacher groups, as well as employee groups representing state, county and municipal workers, the Senate State Affairs Committee voted SB 13 out of committee Thursday. The vote was 6-2.

Voting for SB 13: Chair and bill author Joan Huffman (R-Houston), Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury), Creighton (R-Conroe), Nelson (R-Flower Mound), Hughes (R-Mineola), Schwertner (R-Georgetown)

Voting against SB 13: Zaffirini (D-Laredo), Lucio (D-Brownsville)

Sen. Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls) was not present at the meeting. 

We do not know how soon the bill will be scheduled for consideration on the Senate floor but encourage our members to continue contacting your state senator to express opposition to SB 13.