Speaker Dennis Bonnen released House committee assignments Wednesday, more than a week earlier than anticipated. Education-related committees are as follow:

Public Education

As expected, Dan Huberty (R-Kingwood) returns to lead the committee. Most of the members served on the committee in 2017, and several new members considered to be public education supporters have been added.

  • Dan Huberty, Chair
  • Diego Bernal, Vice-Chair
  • Alma Allen
  • Steve Allison
  • Trent Ashby
  • Keith Bell
  • Harold Dutton
  • Mary Gonzalez
  • Ken King
  • Morgan Meyer
  • Scott Sanford
  • James Talarico
  • Gary VanDeaver

Pensions and Financial Services

Former Pensions Chair Dan Flynn remains on the committee, but is chairing a different committee. The new chair is 6-term Republican Jim Murphy from Houston, who is new to the Pensions Committee.

  • Jim Murphy, Chair
  • Hubert Vo, Vice-Chair
  • Giovanni Capriglione
  • Dan Flynn
  • Barbara Gervin-Hawkins
  • Roland Gutierrez
  • Stan Lambert
  • Jeff Leach
  • Oscar Longoria
  • Phil Stephenson
  • Gene Wu


John Zerwas (R-Houston) returns to chair Appropriations. Of interest is the loss of Trent Ashby, who had led the Article III subcommittee dealing with public education and TRS issues in previous sessions. Ashby will still be involved as a new member of the Public Education Committee; Appropriations subcommittees have not yet been formed.

  • John Zerwas, Chair
  • Oscar Longoria, Vice-Chair
  • Cecil Bell
  • Greg Bonnen
  • Brad Buckley
  • Giovanni Capriglione
  • Philip Cortez
  • Sarah Davis
  • Mary Conzalez
  • Cole Hefner
  • Donna Howard
  • Jarvis Johnson
  • Rick Miller
  • Ina Minjarez
  • Sergio Munoz
  • Toni Rose
  • Matt Schaefer
  • JD Sheffield
  • Carl Sherman
  • Reggie Smith
  • Lynn Stucky
  • Steve Toth
  • John Turner
  • Gary VanDeaver
  • Armando Walle
  • Terry Wilson
  • Gene Wu