The Senate has appointed the five members who will represent the Senate in negotiations with the House over HB 3, the school finance reform/teacher pay raise legislation. They are Sens. Larry Taylor, Jane Nelson, Donna Campbell, Royce West, and Kirk Watson.

They will join House conferees Reps. Dan Huberty, Trent Ashby, Diego Bernal, Mary Gonzalez, and Ken King.

The conference committee will work on the differences between the House and Senate versions of the bill. Chief among the issues are teacher compensation, including both a pay raise and a potential merit pay plan, outcomes-based funding for schools, and some technical funding issues. At least three members from each side must approve the final version, which will then return to the House and Senate for an up or down vote (no amendments).

Under House rules, all conference committee reports must be completed and distributed to the House no later than May 25.