The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) is the fifth generation of Texas' student testing program, which began in 1980 with the Texas Assessment of Basic Skills and has expanded over time due to federal and state requirements. STAAR was launched in the 2011-12 school year, replacing the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS). STAAR is used for the grade 3-8 assessments mandated by HB 3 in 2009 and the high school end-of-course (EOC) assessments mandated by SB 1031 in 2007. Student testing is a major component of Texas' public school accountability system.

Helpful Links

STAAR/Student Assessment Overview
STAAR for Special Education Students
TEA's STAAR Resources
Assessment Calendars

Related CPE Courses

TCTA members may earn up to 1.25 hours of CPE credit for each of the following online CPE courses.
Teach Like a STAAR (Part I)
Teach Like a STAAR (Part II)
R-I-G-O-R … Is That a Four-Letter Word?

More Information: