A major part of the NCLB Act deals with statewide testing and sets aggressive targets for student achievement. Each state was required to define what constitutes adequate yearly progress (AYP) in increasing student achievement toward the goal of all students reaching proficient levels on the state assessments by 2014. The law sets out increasingly harsher penalties for failure to meet AYP in subsequent years.

As of November 2014, only seven states (California, Iowa, North Dakota, Vermont, Wyoming, Montana and Nebraska) do not have waivers granted by the U.S. Department of Education from the NCLB's AYP requirements. These waivers are conditional and subject to renewal and extension requirements. Among the requirements is for states to implement teacher evaluations systems that include, in significant part, student performance on state standardized tests as a measure. Find the latest news below.

Helpful Links

NCLB Requirements for Assessment/AYP
What are Supplemental Educational Services?
Approved Supplemental Educational Services (SES) Providers
USDE NCLB Policy Guidance
NCLB Overview & Recent News
NCLB: Educator Quality
NCLB: Paraprofessionals

Related News: